Fellow Members

Fellow Members (FNZAMH) are people who have made significant contributions to herbal medicine in New Zealand.

They are nominated by the NZAMH Membership and voted into Fellow membership at an NZAMH AGM in recognition of their exceptional contributions to the field of herbal medicine.

The definition according to the NZAMH Constitution is:

“Members of long-term standing who have distinguished themselves in any branch of the profession OR rendered any conspicuous service to the Association OR retired from professional practice after long service to the profession”. 

We currently have 7 Fellow members:

  • Joan Flynn
  • Doris Selwyn
  • Suzanne Woods
  • Selwyn Wong Doo (key founder of Incorporating NZAMH in 1983)
  • Phil Rasmussen (research into New Zealand Native herbs)
  • Isla Burgess (Founder and Director of Waikato College of Herbal Studies)
  • Gilian Painter (Author of several iconic illustrated herbal texts and teacher of botany)